» More Features » Cy-Fair Schools, Sports, Students Sept 2012

Cy-Fair Schools, Sports, Students Sept 2012

| September 1, 2012

(L-R) Eric Bassett Sr.; Jon Yi, 2012 scholarship recipient; Blake Billings; Ana Bassett; and Meredith Fair, 2011 scholarship recipient.

SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENT GRADUATES FROM A&M – The Eric Bassett Memorial Scholarship Fund was established in December 2007 to honor Eric’s memory by providing Cypress area students with financial assistance to pursue education after high school. The scholarship fund awards a $20,000 scholarship annually, and is administered by the Cy-Fair Educational Foundation. The first scholarship was awarded in May 2008 to Eric’s Cy-Falls High School classmate and teammate Blake Billings. Blake started a new tradition by presenting Eric and Ana Bassett with the tassel he received at graduation from Texas A&M University.


Middle school and varsity cheerleaders at Cypress Christian School.

CY-CHRISTIAN CHEERLEADERS RECOGNIZED AT CHEER CAMP – Middle school and varsity cheerleaders from Cypress Christian School attended the Fellowship of Christian Cheerleaders Cheer Camp at Houston Baptist University. The squads spent four days growing in Christ and in their cheerleading skills. While there, they not only learned new cheers and stunts, but also focused on how to use their talents.  Varsity cheerleaders placed second in the Camp Championship with their all-music routine; and both teams were recognized by the camp staff and director for their consistent determination and positive attitudes.


The 13 members of the Cypress Woods High School FFA chapter celebrate earning the Lone Star FFA Degree.

CYPRESS WOODS FFA WINS LONE STAR DEGREE – The Cypress Woods High School FFA chapter was awarded with the Lone Star FFA Degree, the highest degree bestowed by the Texas FFA, at the 84th annual Texas FFA Convention. The Lone Star FFA Degree recognizes FFA members who have received the chapter degree, been active FFA members for at least two years, completed at least four semesters of agricultural science at or above the ninth-grade level, maintained a supervised agricultural experience (SAE) program, demonstrated their leadership skills and have shown a commitment to the FFA through involvement at the chapter level and above.

The 13 members of the Cypress Woods FFA to receive the degree are: Kyle Atkins, Jon Carlisle, Lauren Clark, Shelby Drab, Dezi Funnell, Mary Hyde, Clint Jozwiak, Stephanie Kubecka, Lauren Lowry, Aaron Mushinski, Kelsey Supak, Alex Whitnah and Tyler Wooten.

The Cypress Woods FFA also received a bronze-level chapter for the Golden Horizon award in the multiple-teacher division. The Golden Horizon state rating award selection is based on exceptional chapter involvement and activities within the school and community, recognizing well-rounded chapter involvement that promotes maximum participation in order to deliver all facets of the agricultural education program.

Additionally, Kelsey Supak participated in the Texas FFA Rodeo, held in conjunction with the Texas FFA Convention, at the San Patricio County Fairgrounds in Sinton. Recording times of 16.596, 16.526 and 16.191 in the barrel racing event, Kelsey qualified for the Texas FFA Rodeo Finals — where she placed fourth in the short-go and fifth place in the overall average. Supak was among 151 participants in the Texas FFA Rodeo.


FOOTBALL PLAYERS SELECTED TO TD CLUB PRE-SEASON TEAM – Seven CFISD football players were among 31 Houston-area athletes selected to the Touchdown Club of Houston 2012 High School Pre-Season Team.

The following CFISD representatives were named to the team: Langham Creek High School senior quarterback Connor Feist; Cypress Ranch High School senior running back Keith Ford; Langham Creek senior offensive lineman Kenneth Thompson; Cypress Falls High School senior wide receiver Jacorey Warrick; Cypress Falls senior defensive lineman Jacobi Hunter; Cypress Woods High School senior linebacker Deoundrei Davis; and Jersey Village High School senior defensive back LaTrayien Gee. The team was recognized during the Touchdown Club’s annual Touchdowner of the Year Dinner.


The Sampson Elementary School Stallion Stackers with sponsors Darlene Gubic and Kristin Janger.

SAMPSON STACKERS CAPTURE WORLD RECORDS – Forty Sampson Elementary School students represented CFISD and claimed 13 gold medals at the 2012 AAU Junior Olympic Sport Stacking Championship. The international event marked the first time sport stacking was included as part of the AAU Junior Olympics.

Collectively, the Sampson Stallions sport stacking team amassed 85 top-10 finishes, 47 top-five finishes, and 34 top-three finishes at the Junior Olympics. The team also set numerous state and national records, including one divisional world record.

In the 10U Division, Collin Bass, Chloe Ewing, Danica Gubic and Brian Janger (Sampson 2 Fast 4 U) won a gold medal and set a Divisional 10U World Record in the timed 3-6-3 relay with a time of 17.46, breaking the previous record of 18.27 held by Team Ireland. The time also marked the United States and Texas state record in this event. Another relay team from Sampson, including Adele Gammill, Rachel Martin, Colby Sacky and Dawson McDaniel (Sampson Grizzlies), earned a bronze medal in the same event.

In the 12U Division, Colby Brennan, Carter Gibson, Garrett Martin, Alejandro Montoya and Blake Weldon (Sampson Sharks) won a bronze medal and set a Texas state record in the timed 3-6-3 relay.

In the 8U Division, Evan Bass, Hayden Del Toro, Shane Laird and Eli Poff (Sampson All Stars) placed fourth and set a Texas state record in the timed 3-6-3 relay.

In the 6U Division, Parker Christ, George Girard, Megan Janger and Noah McDaniel (Sampson Sneaky Stackers) won a gold medal and set a Texas state record in the timed 3-6-3 relay with a time of 33.63.

In the 10U Parent/Child Doubles competition, Brian Janger and his mom, Kristin Janger, won a gold medal and set a Texas state record. Janger was also selected as a new member of TEAM USA Sport Stacking, recognizing him as one of the world’s fastest stackers in his age division.


Students from Cy-Fair High School won five awards at the Gloria Shields All-American Publications Workshop in Dallas.

CY-FAIR STUDENTS WIN PUBLICATIONS AWARDS – Eight Cy-Fair High School students won five awards at the 32nd annual Gloria Shields All-American Publications Workshop. A total of 29 Cy-Fair sophomores, juniors and seniors, who will be staff members on The Reporter newspaper or The Bobcat yearbook in 2012-13, attended the conference along with journalism students from Texas, Ohio, Kansas and Virginia.

Kestra Derise won “Best Lead” in the Beginning Newspaper class; Harper Neitzy won “Best News Conference Story” in Beginning Newspaper class; Sarah East won “Outstanding Sidebars” and “Outstanding Copy” in Intermediate Yearbook class; and Rebeccah Barger, Desirae Hoover, Madison Fumic, Carly Wood and Anne Brown won “All-American Writer” awards in Specialized Writing class.


Taylor Frith-Brown

Alie Derkowski

STUDENTS WIN NATIONAL TECHNOLOGY AWARDS – Two CFISD students earned awards at the Technology Student Association National Competition. Langham Creek High School senior Taylor Frith-Brown placed eighth in the nation in the Technical Sketching competition. Taylor made it to the finals at nationals by placing in the top 12 on the written exam. She then completed the practical exam, drawing an exploded isometric view, assembled isometric view and working drawing in a 90-minute time frame. Cypress Woods High School junior Alie Derkowski placed 10th in the nation in the CAD 2-D Architecture competition.


Category: More Features, Schools, Sports, Students

Comments are closed.